Loading Concerts

Tchaikovsky No. 1

*Programme changed 
Date: 21-11-2020 Saturday 8pm

Venue: Macao Cultural Centre Grand Auditorium

Conductor/Lu Jia
Piano/Tianxu An

Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor, Op. 23
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 1 in G minor, Op. 13, “Winter dreams”
*Beethoven: Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67

Lu Jia


Tianxu An


New emerging piano star Tianxu An is a student of the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia, USA. He is best known for his saga during the International Tchaikovsky Competition in 2019, where unfortunately an administrative error in the performance order of his works occurred, but upon the orchestra’s wrong opening, he immediately overcame the shock and stress and confidently continued his performance. In this season, under the baton of Conductor Lu Jia, An will perform in Macao the Tchaikovsky “Piano Concerto No. 1”, a piece from that luckless competition, a magnificent symphony distinctively Tchaikovsky, beaming a splendid atmosphere, and an extraordinary work from his youth. Besides, Macao Orchestra will present Beethoven’s Symphony No.5 in C Minor.

Approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes, including one interval



Download Information

House Programme