Loading Concerts

Classical meets Impressionism – Macao Orchestra and Suzhou Symphony Orchestra

Date:15-01-2022 Saturday 20:00

Venue : Macao Cultural Centre Grand Auditorium

Conductor/Piano : Xu Zhong
Sopranos: Dong Fang

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major, Op. 15
Ravel: Pavane pour une Infante défunte
Ravel: Trois poèmes de Stéphane Mallarmé
Ravel: Le Tombeau de Couperin

Xu Zhong

PHOTO_Credit to Shu Xiaoning _ A

Dong Fang

The Piano Concerto No.1 in C Major, Op.15 by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) is considered one of the composer’s masterpieces from his younger days for its grand, bold musical ideas, well ahead of his contemporary peers, combined with the powerful expressivity of the piano. French composer Maurice Ravel (1875-1937) is noted for his neat, meticulous music style. Whether his nostalgic Pavane Pour Une Infante Défunte and Le Tombeau de Couperin, or Trois Poèmes de Stéphane Mallarmé with its elusive tonalities, all fully demonstrate the composer’s gift for beauty. The Macao Orchestra and the Suzhou Symphony Orchestra join hands again with pianist and conductor Xu Zhong to perform these four wonderful pieces. A concert not to be missed!

Approximately 1 hour and 45 minutes, including one interval


MOP 250/200/150

Tickets are available from 30 Dec 2021 10:00am

Download Information