Loading Concerts

Fantasy of Four Seasons —Yu-Chien Tseng and Macao Orchestra

Date: 4/3/2023  Saturday 20:00
Venue: Macao Cultural Centre Grand Auditorium

Conductor: Lio Kuokman

Violin: Yu-Chien Tseng


Philip Glass: Violin Concerto No. 2  “American Four Seasons”

Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 7 in D minor, Op. 70


Lio Kuokman

Lio Kuok Man


Yu-Chien Tseng


The four seasons have inspired many composers and in this concert we can listen to the seasons’ charms presented by two music masters. In this concert Macao Orchestra invited Yu-Chien Tseng, from Taiwan, the top prize winner of the 2015 Tchaikovsky International Violin Competition, to perform together. In recent years the two have cooperated closely, reaching tacit understanding. A wonderful performance can be expected!

Philip Grass’s Four Seasons in America does not define each movement as Spring, Summer, Fall or Winter. Therefore it’s up to fans to decide which season the music evokes according to the varying musical moods, which is quite interesting. In the last part, Lio Kwokman conducted the Macao Orchestra presenting Dvořák’s Symphony No. 7 in D minor, a work praised by the British magazine The Athenæum as “one of the greatest masterpieces of its kind in the contemporary era”. The piece feature beautiful melodies full of vitality, tinged with a mix of joy and pain and oozing Slavic folk charm.

Approximately 1 hour and 40 minutes, including one interval.

Audience who enters the venue must wear a mask.


MOP 300/250/200/150

Download Information

House Programme