Loading Concerts

Beethoven’s Emperor by Haochen Zhang

Date: 03/02/2024 Saturday 20:00
Venue : University of Macau – University Hall (N2)

Conductor/Christopher Warren-Green
Piano/Haochen Zhang

Brahms: Academic Festival Overture, Op. 80
Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat Major, Op. 73 ”Emperor”
Elgar: Enigma Variations, Op. 36

Christopher Warren-Green


Haochen Zhang


British master conductor Maestro Christopher Warren-Green is Conductor Laureate of the Charlotte Symphony in North Carolina and Music Director of the London Chamber Orchestra. He will join Macao Orchestra to perform works from the creativity acme of three famous composers. Firstly, the very dynamic “Academic Festival Overture”, composed by Johannes Brahms in 1880 to thank the University of Breslau, which had awarded him an honorary doctorate degree. Secondly, “Enigma Variations” – a series of 14 short musical portraits by Edward Elgar who drew inspiration from 14 of his friends and family members – premiered in London on June 1899 to great acclaim. Finally, Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 5, composed between 1809 and 1811, a majestic piece with a noble atmosphere. The latter is performed by Haochen Zhang, a Gold Medalist of the 13th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, one of the most prestigious international competition and is bound to bring the audience an unforgettable aural experience.

The organizer reserves the right to alter the programme and/ or the cast of performers.


MOP 200/150